The Galloway Agreement 

The Galloway Agreement is a new collaboration featuring Wendy Stewart (clarsach, vocals), Ruth Morris (alto and tenor nyckelharpa), Gavin Marwick (fiddle) and Stuart Macpherson (double bass).

The band is based in Dumfries and Galloway, and originally came together as invited artists to record on Wendy’s latest album, ‘Folds in the field’. They enjoyed playing together so much that they decided to form this new quartet, with a quite different instrumental line-up and choice of material from a more usual string quartet! Their current repertoire is a mixture of original compositions and favourite tunes and songs from Scotland and other European traditions. Their intention is to go much more in the direction of composing themselves for this lovely combination of instruments.